I’ve been off gluten for 4 years, it was before the fads were in and all the hipsters were doing it. What made me go off of it was my health. At 19 I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis which is one of many autoimmune diseases, and was automatically put on an anti-inflammatory medication.  I remember walking out of the room with a prescription in my hand and my boyfriend (now amazingly awesome husband) sitting patiently waiting for me. My world had just been rocked. I went from being an outgoing teen to a 19 year old that could barely function and get out of bed because of pain. The meds that they put me on made me groggy and worse than the pain level of 30 on a scale level of 1-10. So I decided to take my health into my own hands with the help of family and the lovely internet.

One thing that I read was that gluten is an inflammatory in the body. I had nothing else to lose; I was already lactose intolerant so taking gluten away wasn’t as big of a deal as I thought. WRONG.

First off: what is gluten? Many people who go gluten free don’t even know what it is. So I’ll let Google explain: “Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (durum, emmer, spelt, farina, farro, KAMUT® khorasan wheat and einkorn), rye, barley and triticale. Gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected”  thanks http://celiac.org/

When you go off of gluten you really take into perspective how much food and or products that have gluten in it. Tooth paste, shampoo? I’m serious. Check your labels. I’ll admit I’m a label snob. And I’d rather eat in than go out.  I’ve taken to many peoples words for it and haven’t been able to move for days or your stomach hurts so bad that you can’t eat, or the dreaded migraine that would last for days.

So with that said I went off of gluten. I cleaned up my eating habits, it took me about 4- 5 months to start feeling a difference in pain but after that I went into remission for 2 years. Then babies happened, after each child my RA came back worse. (Almost 6 months PP with Emerson and I’m STILL recovering) After we had Emerson my body started attacking itself more. Because once you have an autoimmune disease you are more prone to developing another one without your knowledge. So it is important to regularly see your Dr for blood work even if you take it into your own hands or not.

ANYWAY that was a bunny trail; I could go on and on. After Emerson I started Paleo. My RA came back so bad that I couldn’t function. It took all my energy to just feed her and change her, not to mention having a 13 month old as well. And I had to do something.

Thankful for my loving husband with his support and encouragement and the wonderful Against All Grain book and blog by Danielle Walker; we’ve been Paleo for almost 3 months now. I can feel a difference in my joint pain, my grogginess, and my attitude toward recovery.  It also helps lose the baby weight as well! I will be posting both gluten free and Paleo recipes in this blog along with many other things.

I can’t wait to share all my recipes with you!

Check out Danielle Walker here: I know you’ll love it!

againstallgrain.com

